Children Of Divorced Parents Support Group

This community is for the children of divorce, both for adult children who have lived through a divorce as well as parents concerned about the effects of divorce on their children. Share your story and get advice in this support group, where there are others going through similar challenges.

0 Online
0 Online
  • Hi everyone, this is my first time in a support group, but I'm just looking for some advice or people to talk to who know what I'm going through. About a month ago, I got a call from my mom, which was a total shock, and she told me that my dad doesn't live at home anymore and that they were filing for divorce. I learned that my dad had an affair with a much younger woman, and ever since, my world...
  • Hi All,I am a 27 years old and I received a phone call from my mom last night saying my dad hasn't been living at home for months and they are getting divorce. It shocked me to my core. My mom cried on the phone with me and she isn't a cryer. It hurt me a lot and made me livid at my dad as it sounds like it's all his decision. My mom struggles with depression and I'm really worried about her....
  • Hi Im Hannah, and I really dont know how this goes because I have never been in a support group. But my therapist says this might be good for me until I see her on the 9th. Two days ago my mother (whom I have a strained relationship with) let my brother (31) and I know she was leaving my father. She used to throw huge fits when I was a child, giving me "the talk" about divorcing him man times...
  • Corn248

Fear

I am afraid of opening up to people. I don't have a lot of friends, because I am afraid of rejection. My parents have been divorced for over 15 years. I don't really have a relationship with my dad. He has not been there for me and my sister for quite sometime. I don't know if that is part of that reason why I have difficulties opening up or what.