Amputees Support Group

Amputation is the removal of a body extremity by trauma or surgery. Many have undergone amputation or have been living with a missing limb since birth. In either case, life as an amputee can be challenging. This is the place to find others going through the same experiences as an amputee. Share your thoughts, troubles, and solutions with the community.

0 Online
  • Hi everyone,I'm a university student conducting research on any social challenges people face when trying to re-adjust to life after an amputation. I'd be very appreciative of any experiences you'd be willing to share. Please let me know if you're open to chatting. 
  • diliel

Pain in stump

Hi Everyone, i am new here. Name is Dili, i have been searching for a support group where i can share my struggles regarding amputation , i hope i have found it. My amputation is above the knee on my right. A tree fell on my right leg when I was 6yrs old in Nigeria, im 28 now...never really had issues till recently. I cant use my prosthetic leg at the moment (since september), whenever i try to...
  • I had a left  AKA March 1, 2017 after having a bypass that blew out in November. The repair made me have no circulation to lower left leg.After spending two months in nursing home received my first prosthetic leg and started out patient PT in May. I am now able to walk  600 ft with walker. I have my second prosthetic leg with a locking switch on it I just started walking carefuly with one...
  • phelan

comfort of prosthetic leg?

I am an above the knee amputee. I wear a gel liner and my socket has soft plastic inner layer and is hard on the outside. Just wondering with all that )my socket is so huge, barely fits in my pants (its so big that my pant leg is too short and I have to roll up my pant leg) and it is not that comfortable. Is this normal? Is there something out there that is more comfortable or do I just have to...
  • deleted_user

how long does it take to walk again