Hidradenitis Suppurativa Support Group

Hidradenitis suppurativa (hi-drad-uh-NIE-tis sup-yoo-ruh-TIE-vuh) is rare, long-term skin condition that features small, painful lumps under the skin. The disease manifests as clusters of chronic abscesses or boils, sometimes as large as baseballs, that are extremely painful to the touch and may persist for years with occasional to frequent periods of inflammation, culminating in drainage, often leaving open wounds that will not heal.

0 Online

Armpit Flare Up

Just looking for some insight. I've been dealing with a flare up in my armpit for about six months, where it never opened up but was very painful. It's my first flareup and I'm just learning about HS. It opened up almost 2 weeks ago and has been draining ever since. Should I push on it to make it drain more? Or is that bad? Also, do they ever go away, or will I have constant open sore at all...
  • I'm a 43 year old female and have been dealing with HS since I was 15.  I've been taking Minocycline for about 20 years and recently was put on Bactrum.  I know that taking antibiotics for a long time is not good for your body, but I feel like if I stop then my Stage 3 HS will get worse.  Has anyone else taken antibiotics for a long period of time?I also recently started taking Spironolactone...
  • Silverwing94

Sometimes I can't take it

I'm currently 21 years old and was diagnosed with HS at 15. It's a very hard thing to talk about with my family because even though they try to understand it, they can only go so far with understanding because they don't have it. (Except for my dad whom also has it but we aren't on too well off terms.) I fear getting these abscesses and while I try to keep them under control I've recently gotten...
  • chronic99

SCVs, L-forms, Biofilms...