Cleft Lip / Palate Support Group

Cleft is a congenital deformity caused by a failure in facial development during gestation. It can be treated with surgery shortly after birth with highly successful results. Cleft occurs in somewhere between one in 600 and one in 800 births. Cleft occurs in several severities and is divided in two major categories: cleft lip and cleft palate.

0 Online
  • AmaraSwane

Just a normal teenage girl

Hey everyone,My name's Amara, i'm turning fifteen on the 23th and was born with an unilateral cleft lip (and palate).     And i'm new!This is actually the first time i've joined a cleft group, but i'm really excited to know that i'm not the only person who has struggles. So the first thing i would like to talk about is my appearance. I think this might be the worst thing about a cleft lip. Cuz...
  • badger

I'm new here

Hey loves,I'm new to the daily strength forum but not new to living with bilateral CL/CP. Lately, I have been struggling to cope and feel beautiful. I find myself holding onto years of agonizing memories and anger from countless surgeries and bullying. After reading your posts, I was immediately comforted to know that I am not alone. Some of the posts are word-for-word my exact thoughts and...
  • mynameisnotlily

Self-Concious

Hi, my name is Stella and I'm in middle school. I have a unilateral cleft lip and palate. I'm really self-concious about my looks and I'm worried that people will find me weird looking. I'm also worried that people will put my birth defect before my personality. I'm scared no guy will ever like me because I'm "too ugly." Do you guys have any tips for me so i can be less self- concious?
  • Z94

Just need to get stuff off my mind