Stroke Support Group

A stroke is an acute neurologic injury where the blood supply to a part of the brain is interrupted, either by a clot in the artery or if the artery bursts. The brain perfused by that artery no longer receiving oxygen carried by the blood and dying with cessation of function from that part of the brain.

0 Online
  • lancercleo

Looking for ways to support from far away

Hi there, everyone. I'm new to DS, hoping to get some ideas and different perspectives here. My Dad endured a terrible stroke a few years ago, and he's had a few more since then. We live in different cities and so I am not his primary caregiver. He has all of the medical and financial support he needs. I am trying to figure out how to best comfort him from far away and only being able to visit a...
  • LTL

Just joined, hello.

I am five years out from a subarachnoid hemorrhage at age 44 that has left me with panic attacks, depression, migraines, visual or optical illusions (rapid flashing of lights and colors in my eyes 24/7) and emotional swinging between anger and extreme sadness.  I have problems with overstimulation to the point where its very difficult to be out in public longer than about 2 hours.  I find...
  • Wayne

Confused ,bewildered

had a stroke July 21,2016 .. Since then I can't understand how one second I'm flying in a helicopter to a hospital and the very next day I'm sent home ??? Gave me a bloodclot busting drug and within 3 hours I'm completely normal again . Only thing is I'm a trucker of close to 25 years and now the DOT won't let me do my job . Totally understand but WTF am I supposed to do now ?
  • Phoebesfriend

Bringing my husband home.