Stroke Support Group

A stroke is an acute neurologic injury where the blood supply to a part of the brain is interrupted, either by a clot in the artery or if the artery bursts. The brain perfused by that artery no longer receiving oxygen carried by the blood and dying with cessation of function from that part of the brain.

0 Online
  • Suez123

Stroke at young age

So my fiance had a stroke only 1 week ago at age 47!... tonight is his 1st night home and I am finding myself unable to sleep worried something will happen.... I have a duvet on the floor as I can't sleep and don't want to wake him. His memory isn great which seems to be the biggest issue (along with some issues with his leg)... its very difficult to watch someone who was once so independent &...
  • okiislandgurl

KUMC Occupational Therapy Student

To my new friends in the DailyStrength Stroke Support Group,I am a 2nd year student in the University of Kansas Medical Center's Master's of Occupational Therapy Program.  As of right now, we are doing a semester long project where we are following a consumer here in Kansas who has had a stroke.  Part of this assignment, we are asked to join an online support group forum to find out those...
  • Jmen

My best friend

My friend had a stroke caused by brain cancer(that she is still fighting)almost 3 years ago.She's not able to walk though has been doing physical therapy when she can and has all of her mental facilities. She's frustrated when she can't do things on her own but refuses help in any way. Other than hosptal visits she doesn't leave the house and sits in a recliner all day feeling horrible. We want...
  • Gigi123

TIA?

Facial drooping started 4 days ago. Have had ct both with and without contrast as well as MRI and blood work. Everything looked good on all tests but I was diagnosed with TIA. I'm not convinced because only face is involved, forehead is affected and tia symptoms should not last this long. Could I have been misdiagnosed?
  • LABFNP