Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) Support Group

Polycythemia is a condition in which there is a net increase in the total circulating erythrocyte (red blood cell) mass of the body. Primary polycythemia occurs when excess erythrocytes are produced as a result of a proliferative abnormality of the bone marrow. Secondary polycythemia is caused by increases of erythropoietin that result in an increased production of erythrocytes.

0 Online
  • April

Stress and PCOS?

Recently I've been under a lot of stress and I've noticed that when I am worried or angry or stressed I get sharp pains in my stomach back and hips. When I was first diagnosed with PCOS I was feeling these same pains but more intense (had to be hospitalized). I just want to know if anyone else experiences this and other than trying to relax, what do you do to try to over come the pain?...
  • psmucker3

Hi Ladies! I'm a fourth year student at The New School in NYC. I'm conducting a series of interviews for a jounalism project on PCOS. After recently being diagnosed, I left the doctor with many unaswered questions and frustration!  I am hoping to reach out women with PCOS, preferably in the NYC area, and experts on the subject.  Would anyone be interested in participating in an interview...
  • Stellar0ctopus

So embarrassed

I heard a few of my Co workers talking with each other saying I have a lot of facial hair... it's not something I can control especially having PCOS, I don't even have anyone to talk to about this. Anyone else ever had the same situation? 
  • Hi all, I started taking hormonal birth control in January to help my periods and was diagnosed in August, 7 years after symptoms appeared.I'm having a very rough time. No one around me has the disease and they rarely even know what it is. I was teased a lot as a kid because of the symptoms and doctors didn't believe how painful my periods were.Lately my birth control has given me insane mood...
  • mjk34044