Diverticulitis Support Group

Diverticulitis is a common disease of the bowel, in particular the large intestine. Diverticulitis develops from diverticulosis, which involves the formation of pouches on the outside of the colon. Diverticulitis results if one of these diverticula becomes inflamed. Diverticulitis most often affects middle-aged and elderly persons, though it can strike younger patients as well.

0 Online
  • glucosinolate

First diverticulitis attack

hi. I was  diagnosed with diverticular disease bout a year ago now.  Also had to have gall bladder out too. I get so much diarrhoea it's unreal.  Just had my first diverticulitis attack. How often do people get these attacks. Anyone got ideas to stop the diarrhoea. 
  • Edque

pain

Hello I was just diagnosed with diverticulitis and it has been very painful. Got out of the hospital on Thursday night. When does the pain start to go away?
  • WhateverwillB

Do you always have fever

Hi, I'm a newbie to this site and have a few questions. Six weeks I went to doc with right sided pain (high) that sometimes went low. It hurt and I just felt bad. A CT scan showed slight stranding and I was diagnosed with "early diverticulitis". I had NO fever. I took a 7 day course of Flagyl and Cipro. Those meds made me sick but I stuck it put and pain left. However, I still have "twinges" and...
  • Chrispy89

Change in location of pain?

I think I am Starting my 4th flare up since my first about a year ago. The first 3 were all in my lower abdomin which I was the location they found during a colonoscopy  last February. This morning I felt a slight side ache a couple inches below my ribs (left side) which slowly worsened through the day now I am laying in bed with random bouts of  moderate - severe  pain. I also have a duller...
  • Jerrysangel

So confused...