Porphyria Support Group

The porphyrias are inherited or acquired disorders of certain enzymes in the heme biosynthetic pathway (also called porphyrin pathway). The hepatic porphyrias primarily affect the nervous system, resulting in abdominal pain, vomiting, acute neuropathy, seizures, and mental disturbances, including hallucinations, depression, anxiety, and paranoia.

0 Online
0 Online
  • Hi, my name is Kelsey. I am 17 and I was recently diagnosed with AIP. The past 4 years of my life have been complete hell. I have been struggling with horrible stomach aches and all over body pain. I feel like my heart is beating really fast and I have horrible constipation, sometimes I don't have a bowel movement for over 2 weeks. I have really bad numbness and tingling in my hands and feet. My...
  • Hi, My name is Gabrielle Godbille. I am an intern with Rare Genomics Institute and RareShare this summer. We are helping research information on rare disease and I am looking to interview people about different diseases to help patients with these diseases.I am working on acute intermittent porphyria. I was wondering if anyone would be open to do a phone or email interview.The interview should...
  • Currently my scariest symptom is SVT, Supraventricular Tachycardia. It has actually been caught on ECG several times, they inject you with adenosine to reset your normal rhythm. I only go to A&E if it has gone on for a very, very long time, and the last one was a few days ago lasting five hours and I didn't bother going, for many practical reasons but mainly because as the doctor said, this is...
  • deleted_user

Symptoms