Foster Care Support Group

Foster care is a system by which a certified, stand-in parent(s) cares for minor children or young peoples who have been removed from their birth parents or other custodial adults by state authority. Responsibility for the young person is assumed by the relevant governmental authority and a placement with another family found.

0 Online
  • Fierce

New Foster Parent

Greetings...Im currently getting ready to be a foster parent. I live alone and do not have children. I am a social worker and I work with the foster care system. Im taking older children. Any advise would be great.
  • pammyp

Children being returned too soon - Very worried!!

Hi I know we can say ''who are we to judge?'' BUT when you have done everything you can to keep little one safe especially if vulnerable and then it seems the law is on the parents side not the childs it can be very frustrating indeed!...I am kinship foster carer for my Grandson as my daughter is an alcoholic , 4 months clean after 3 years of her child being in care , so suddenly she is super Mum...
  • Auntloves

Relationships with the birth mother

Hello. I am new to the group and I welcome your advise. 2 months ago I found out that I was a new Aunt to a 4 month old baby girl. My alcoholic brother and his junkie girlfriend chose to keep her a secret because she was taken into CPS custody after her birth. They were ashamed and embarrassed. My brother is trying to reunify. His girlfriend was refused services (this is her 3rd child involved...
  • Micki37

Struggling with toddler not eating

I know it's not her fault but its becoming so hard to love my very stubborn 16 month old foster daughter.  She refuses food unless it's sugar.  For weeks all she would eat were cookies.  She spits out anything that isn't very very sweet.  So people have said "let her eat what she wants"  the problem with that is all the sugar gives her very acidic diarrhea.  People say "hide good things in...
  • Micki37