Foster Care Support Group

Foster care is a system by which a certified, stand-in parent(s) cares for minor children or young peoples who have been removed from their birth parents or other custodial adults by state authority. Responsibility for the young person is assumed by the relevant governmental authority and a placement with another family found.

0 Online
  • newmommatobe95

In need of reassurance

My sister has a three year old little girl and is nine months pregnant with a little boy. She has a history of drug use and was repoted to DHS for faiiling a drug test while pregnant. The case worker placed the little girl in my care for 25 days while they conducted their investigation. The 25 days are now up and she has been drug free since DHS got involed, the case worker said that the hospital...
  • iantwinsw

Questions

Hi everyone, I am a social work student writing a paper for my diverse populations class. This paper requires us to immerse ourselves in the community we are writing on. I want to understand everyone's perspective of foster care, the system, and your experiences either as a foster child or foster parent. Please let me know your thoughts and feelings. Also feel free to contribute any advice to...
  • I am hoping that someone can give me some kind of assistance because hubby and I are totally at a loss. See we are foster parents but foster parents to our 3 biological grandchildren (3, 2, and 1 yo) and their sister (8 yo). Being foster parents was the only way we could get all 4 of them. We also have 2 boys of our own who are 11 and 9 yo. We have had them since July/August of last year...