Alopecia Areata Support Group

Alopecia areata ("baldness in spots") is a form of hair loss from areas of the body, usually from the scalp. Because it causes bald spots on the head especially in the first stages, it is also called spot baldness. Hair loss can extend to eyebrows, eyelashes and facial and nasal hair and create more bald spots elsewhere in the body.

0 Online
0 Online
  • lonelyscorpio

New to hair loss

Hi,I have been losing my hair for 3 weeks now, I used to have full thick beautiful hair and now have lost about 2/3 of it. Blood tests show nothing wrong with me. I have 2 bald spots on each side. I am a hairdresser by trade ( I don't work as a hairdresser though.)So my hair is very important to me, losing it is doing a NUMBER on me emotionally.I have no idea what is causing it or if it will ever...
  • helenb29

Advice Please

Hello, I have been suffering with alopecia areata for a few years now and have been through almost every treatment possible with no results! I have lost the hair to the front and sides of my scalp and am looking for options of hair pieces that would be suitable. I dont want to go for a full wig as I have thick hair everywhere else but need something that looks natural.
  • I've tried most of the popular brands, and used different wig caps...but they all become itchy and annoying after a short while. Is there a secret to wearing a wig that I might not be aware of? I have Alopecia and have very thin hair that makes me look bald all over my scalp. I would like to wear a wig again since people seem to react different to me when I have one on, otherwise they think I'm...
  • puffster

Hair Club Xtrands