Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Support Group

Find support with others who have gone through a traumatic experience. Whether you have chronic or acute PTSD, we are here for you.

4 Online

Dysfunctional family to family of choice?

I was the designated scapegoat in my dysfunctional family system from childhood through age 52 as an adult, so I know the bitterness of unfair dysfunctional family disappointment.  I was an honors student when I lived at home, and when I went to college I got a rare Fulbright Scholarship which would have made any parent proud.  

But I got nothing but criticism and ridiculous attacks on my credibility instead.  The weirdest was when I got an actual beating in high school when I got home from starring in the school play.  Not the usual parent's response to their kids' success.  Most parents would cheer their kid from the sidelines for things like pitching a good Little League baseball game. Not mine.  

My dad happened by my bedroom one night when I was in high school and asked me what homework I was working on.  I mentioned the author I was reading for my high school teacher's homework assignment.  He didn't like that author, so believe it or not, I got another beating--beating for doing my homework.   Most parents would be glad their kid did his homework.  Not mine.

It never stopped through adulthood.  No matter how many coping skills I acquired in my therapy, all they did with that was use it to twist it around to say that I was in therapy because I was the only crazy person in the family.  It showed it was never going to change with them, never.  So as many of you know, after I got punched in the face for nothing by my 80 year father at Christmas 6 years ago, I quit going back for more.  I started coming here to DS PTSD instead.