Hypotonia Support Group

Hypotonia is a condition of abnormally low muscle tone (the amount of tension or resistance to movement in a muscle), often involving reduced muscle strength. Hypotonia is not a specific medical disorder, but a potential manifestation of many different diseases and disorders that affect motor nerve control by the brain or muscle strength.

0 Online
  • deleted_user

My Hypotonic Timeline

Hello! My name is Bree, I am twenty years old. I am an artist, an athlete, a student, and I have hypotonia.I have occasionally checked out online support groups for the disorder and most commonly see parents of young children and infants seeking questions about hypotonia, but I rarely see testimonies from adults and young adults living with hypotonia. I am here to prove that we do grow up to be...
  • ale

I have a 7-yr daughter with hypotonia

i have been searching a group to exchange experiences a while, but finally I found this. I live in brazil. My daughter was diagnosed by the age of 1 yr. she had motor developmental delay ans these difficulties (fine and gross motor activities) are still present. At school she is doing fine, but we notice she is somewhat behind in maths. We retained her one year in the school. I mean the first...
  • resih

Some food for thought

I am a physical therapist with pediatric experience.  I also have some undiagnosed mixed tone issues--probably originally sensory in origin but now very ingrained.  I found this page while searching for exercises for adults with hypotonia and thought I would share what popped into my head.  I have always found traditional exercise to be too hard--potentially injurious.  The response time of...
  • deleted_user

Adult hypotonia