New Privacy Features Are Now Available!

Good News! This morning, we added a new profile privacy feature allowing you to better control who has access to your profile both on both DailyStrength and across the Internet. The privacy feature settings are located on the "My Account" page where you now will have the option to choose from three settings for your DS profile page: Everyone - Allow everyone to see my profile including non-DS members and search engine spiders such as Google and Yahoo.DS members - Only allow DS members to see my profile. This setting will also restrict search engine spiders from including your profile in their search results.Friends Only - Only allow my friends to see my profile. This setting will also restrict search engine spiders from including your profile in their search results. Three important things to note: 1) People who don't have access to your profile will be able to see your avatar and username. 2) Profile privacy may override any privacy settings you have selected for journal entries or photos - when there are conflicts, we're going to go with the more private option. Here are 2 examples: - If you have set your Profile to Friends Only but you have selected that a Journal Entry can be viewed by Everyone, it will still only be visible to Friends. - If you have set your profile to Everyone, but a Journal Entry to Friends Only, then your profile will be visible to everyone but the journal will be friends only. 3) When you select "DS Members" or "Friends Only", search engines (Google, Yahoo and Bing) will no longer be able to "see" content within your Profile (your journal entries, photos, and your hugbook). However, search engines may still display your username, your avatar and any content you've posted publicly (for example, discussion posts, group content, etc).  We hope you enjoy the additional privacy options and we thank you for making DailyStrength a great place to be. Doug 

Replies

deleted_user
deleted_user

Thanks Doug!
deleted_user
deleted_user

Yay!!!!
deleted_user
deleted_user

Sounds good Doug, thanks
GeocacherNY
GeocacherNY

nice
deleted_user
deleted_user

I posted this in another thread but don\'t know if the higher ups will answer it. Not only am I still in the google cache but if you click on Cached it brings up everything in my profile just like it use to even though I have everything set to friends only and logged off. So there really is still no privacy as far as search engines if that\'s all it takes. Sorry to be a downer but I find that part of it truly disappointing.
deleted_user
deleted_user

Thank you so much! That makes me feel so much better!!!
deleted_user
deleted_user

A good idea and a nice site it is
deleted_user
deleted_user

Thanks Doug, I appreciate this and all the good work you do here with us. Enjoy your day. ;)
ZECILKL
ZECILKL

Thank you.