Cataracts Support Group

Cataracts form for a variety of reasons, including long-term ultraviolet exposure, secondary effects of diseases such as diabetes, or simply due to advanced age; they are usually a result of denaturation of lens proteins. Genetic factors are often a cause of congenital cataracts and may also play a role in predisposing someone to cataracts.

0 Online
  • Julia1953

Laser Removal

Hi. I'm 63 and have been told I need cataract surgery on both eyes. I'm told my cataracts are age related, not disease related. LOTS of people have told me the surgery is no big deal, but the thought of someone doing ANYTHING to my eyes scares me silly. They will do one eye at a time, and I have no date set yet. If anyone here had laser removal and can help ease my mind, I'd appreciate it.
  • miler

Spectacles or ICL?

Hey everyone here,I am new here. I am writing here to get a suggestion on what should I do with my eye problems. I am an IT professional. Recently I found trouble in vision. It was because of the workloads. I know the reason but I am hard to find a solution for this. The thing is a spectacle would meet my need but I don't want to use that. Spectacles are something that I hated to wear from my...
  • laurapaq

New to this group

Hi I am kind of new to this group.I am on a waiting list for cataract surgery. I went on the list in January and was told that I could wait from 9 months to a year.That would be fine except that I have only one eye. Had the right one removed in 1980.I would think that should bump me up on the list,but no.I live in Canada and we have long waits for almost everything medicalI am very worried but...