Discussion Topic

Careers for people with SAD??

Posted on 06/04/09, 09:57 am
What are the options out there for people who struggle with social anxiety in terms of finding a fulfilling career? Is it even possible? So much of my anxiety is centered around the workplace and dealing with people and the pressures of speaking up, being assertive and participating in meetings, and communicating well, etc... How does someone with SAD find a career and manage to be successful and happy? Any thoughts?
Showing 1 - 10 of 20 Replies
  • Reply #1 06/05/09  3:28pm
    I am a pets Stylist. I get to work with lovable, crazy, wild, scared, nervous, and some not so nice dogs ( I find the not so nice dogs a wonderful chalange) all day. I love it. I only have to deal with the owner for a short time. And boy! does my heart race.
  • Reply #2 06/18/09  7:24pm
    I just recently quit a pretty good job dealing with public sales and marketing. I had to be not only social, but I had to initiate the social situations with people. I was good at it and was able to fake it for a few months but I was exhaused every day when I came home from work. I was absolutely mentally and physically exhausted. I took Medical Transcription classes so that I could do med. trans. from home and then I wouldn't have to mess with people at all...Perfect right?! Well, I can't seem to find a job without experience and can't get experience without a job. So, that didn't work out either.
    Anyway, I'm sitting at home every day getting depressed and fat but I would love to work and be productive and happy at the same time. Is that possible for us with social anxiety? If ya'll (I'm from Alabama, sorry) find some good ideas please let me know.
    I'm new to this group so anyone who wants please hit me up or send a friend request.
    Jeff^~
  • Reply #3 06/18/09  8:54pm