Discussion Topic

The Importance of Validation

Posted on 08/13/09, 02:45 pm
All people going through hard times need their feelings validated. That's really all a good therapist does - not give advice or judge, but validate that the way a person feels is OK, is rightfully so. Validation is so important - my sister and I do it constantly and I thank God for her every day. So many "friends" give advice, tell me I should or shouldn't feel this way, questions my decisions. This just leaves one more confused, self doubting. Validation is about love, caring, building up. Great group - I am interested in what others have to say. Thanks for inviting me!!
Showing 6 Replies
  • Reply #1 08/13/09  4:03pm
    you are so right! i envy you your relationship with your sister but i am very glad you have that relationship. i am also very glad you joined! i am still learning how to become better at validating and the recent experience i had with someone not validating me and other opened my eyes to the need for such a room to exist. invite anyone and everyone you know who has been the victim of others invalidation.
  • Reply #2 08/21/09  11:30am
    Yes! Its so frustrating when you go to a best friend who you know cares for and loves you and when you tell them your pain they start thinking about what they would do and say etc. Its so easy to give advice when you can be objective and not have any emotional investment with your own real feelings but we all know how hard it is when it comes to our own issues.

I have learnt to go inside and talk to my inner child and love and soothe her so that i don't need others validation (they find it so hard to do) and then i give myself the validation i need.

Self validation is what i'd like to achieve and whilst i am very grateful for my therapist hearing me properly i now need to do this for myself.

Blessings and joy to you both
  • Reply #3 09/07/09  3:35pm
    vivi,