Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff!!!!!
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
Employment
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
What jobs can we do without causing pain? I am a social worker but filing, stapling...incease pain.
Posted on 01/17/11, 09:38 am
7 Replies Add Your Reply
Reminder: This is a support group for Thoracic Outlet Syndrome. We trust you will do your best to remain positive and helpful. For more information, see our rules of the road.

You may also create your own Member Groups where you can moderate the discussion.
Comment:
Email me when others reply to this topic help
View More Posts Ignore
Reply #1 - 01/22/11  11:57am
" Hi! I had that same question long time ago. I had bilateral TOS and I can understand how you feel. I can't cashier because it just made it worse. I was put on the switchboard but yet had me do filing and typing which makes it worse. I think just answering phones will do while getting some therapy, massage, etc. Giving it a lot of time to heal, I think is the best therapy of all. I'm still working full time, dealing with pain but manage to make it thru every day. It is very hard. I have some thoughts of just quitting my job but how am I going to support myself? It's hard enough for me when my arms are down. I have to switch tasks, take breaks, do lots of stretching and lots of managing pain. I try to live life to the fullest but when pain sets in it is very very hard. I give myself a pat in the back everytime I make it thru the day! Just take it easy, know when to slow down or stop when things starts to aggrevate. It helped me a lot. Take care and hope to hear from you. "
View More Posts Ignore
Reply #2 - 02/01/11  9:58pm