Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Advice:
How do get off of Ambien?
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Started taking Ambien 5mg a year and a half ago. Since that time I graduated to Ambien 10 mg and started having the side effects of sleepwalking and eating with no recollection of them. I tried going cold turkey but went through a nasty withdrawal. I am now taking Ambien 5mg and want to find a way of getting off this drug. Need help, thanks!
Posted on 07/27/09, 09:56 pm
7 Replies Add Your Advice
Reminder: This is a support group for Insomnia. We trust you will do your best to remain positive and helpful. For more information, see our rules of the road.

You may also create your own Member Groups where you can moderate the discussion.
Advice:
Email me when others reply to this topic help
View More Posts Ignore
Reply #1 - 07/28/09  7:28am
" Lucciana - no matter what the drug company adverts tell the public, no matter what your Dr tells you, Ambien, Lunesta, etc, etc, etc, IS going to reach a point where you can no longer sleep without it so you either start to increase your doses OR you decide to start tapering your doses to stop using it.
It is NEVER an answer or a solution to just stop ANY of the sleeping drugs or benzodiazapine drugs (Klonopin, Ativan, Xanax) etc because your brain's neuronal 'setting' as been changed by using any of this class of drugs so in this case - the slower you come off them the better!
Start by shaving off, with a razor blade a miniscule amount of the drug nightly. The smaller the better! Keep doing that for two, three - four weeks is even better!
Then when you enter the next phase of your tapering - once you have shaved off what you did before, you now shave off another TINY piece again. You can *never* go too slow - you CAN go too fast!