Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Advice:
HS secondary to MRSA
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
I was recently diagnosed with HS seconday to MRSA. I am a Radiation Therapist and deal with cancer patients daily so my ID doc decided to attempt decolonization protocol(Muciprocim ointment 2 times a day and Hibiclens baths for 10 days) for me( I am colonized and infected) and my family. I was given a nasal swab to start and received the news the next day from my hemotogist/oncologist and was in to see the ID doc in 2 days(I'm very lucky). I was referred for possible hidradenitis suppurativa but that was secondary to my MRSA infection. We were on the protocol for 10 days with Zyvox(after failure on Keflex and Augmentun) for myself for 10 days to coincided with it. I had 7 boils under my left armpit and 2 on my right and an stye in my right eye. 5 days after stopping the meds and nasal ointment, I had a new boil emerging under my left armpit. We are still doing the hibiclens showers. I have leukocytosis and thrombocytosis of unknown origin for about 7 years and low immunoglobulin G so I am considered immunocompromised. I went back to the ID doc and started Bactrim DS. 4 days into Bactrim DS treament I got a new boil that is now as big as a golf ball and a pea sized one that is just waiting to pounce. Now I will be starting another round of Zyvox for 14 days in a couple of days-the pharmacy has to order it because of the cost they don't keep it on hand. My ID doc told me that the hope was to reduce the MRSA levels but I would probably always battle this disease. One option is IV immunoglobulin but that only boosts the immune system for a few weeks. Plus there are considerable side effects. I am blessed that this is not in my bloodstream or lungs and I hope that never happens...but only time will tell. Just wanted to introduce myself and say hello to my new HS family. If anybody needs to talk or vent just let me know. Oh...the I