Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff!!!!!
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
What's the difference?
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Hello .. a newbie here.

I was diagnosed with GERD around 7 years ago after going in hospital for suspected ulcer (been on omeprazole on and off since) I was diagnosed after a series of episodes which included stomack pains high up, nausea, sometimes vomiting and general discomfor of digestive system. I must stress I did not have the endoscopy while in hospital (I actively discouraged them from doing one). I have had other symtoms during this time including pain when bending forward, a feeling like something is stuck behind the breastbone, difficulty swallowing occasionally, and burning through to my back behind breastbone. These symptoms are aggrivated by spicy, hot foods, chocolate, fatty foods, over-eating, but the worst flare ups are from too much alcohol (which doesn't happen very often)
My doctor in the past said it sounds more like a HH, but how do I
know this and would the treatment be any different than regular GERD.
I will avoid an endoscopy at all costs (my worst nightmare seriously) even tho I know this would clarify things.
I am having a flare up at the moment and my dod wants me to keep a food diary and had to do a sample to test for bacteria, but yet again this seems to have originated from drinking too many wines and a few sidekicks (was at a party!). I have been invited on a few nights out over the next two months and wonder once this settles down, what sort of drink I could have while out ... the alcoholic variety of course. I would be happy to have just 2 or 3 with other drinks in a row, but don't even know what non alcoholic drinks i could have ... they all seem gassy.
Any advice, information or just an understanding hello would be appreciated :-)
Posted on 06/16/11, 02:59 pm
12 Replies | Most Recent Add Your Reply