Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
Excessive Sleeping and Tiredness
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
I've been getting more and more tired lately. The most severe it's been has only started in the past two weeks. Before that I needed 9 or 10 hours since I started Keppra almost two years ago. Within these past two weeks though, I've been functioning on a minimum of 12-14 hours of sleep in a 24 hour period, with a few days of up to 17 hours of sleep, and yesterday I slept for 22, yes TWENTY-TWO hours out of the twenty four. It's hard to wake even with a few very loud alarms and I still feel tired no matter how much sleep I get. I would suspect anemia if I was bruising a lot, but I have no bruises. I have been noticing some muscle weakness and confusion/mental dullness as well. I'm a student in college and I need to be sharp (and awake.) Also I've been having a lot of headaches. What is this? I have an appointment set up on Monday with my neuro because Keppra/epilepsy is the only known culprit I can think of that would cause such an extreme state. Has anyone been through something similar after taking the same seizure med for a long time? I haven't had any seizures on Keppra, but this sleep thing is stealing my life away. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Posted on 03/23/13, 11:33 am
8 Replies Add Your Reply
Reminder: This is a support group for Epilepsy & Seizures. We trust you will do your best to remain positive and helpful. For more information, see our rules of the road.

You may also create your own Member Groups where you can moderate the discussion.
Comment:
Email me when others reply to this topic help
View More Posts Ignore
Reply #1 - 03/23/13  11:41am