Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff!!!!!
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
'keeping it positive' with EDS
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Hi everyone,
I am new to the whole support group/message board thing. I was diagnosed with "classic type A" EDS when i was 5 years old. Since then i have dealt with numerous orthopedic health issues. In 2007 I was near death after an accident that stripped one of my main arteries and ruined my right knee. 18 months ago I broke my left ankle in several places and required surgery, and just last Saturday i did something silly at home, tripped, and fractured my right ankle the same way i fractured my left. I am now home again, unable to go into my office while i wait for surgery next week.

I am 28 years old, an Office Manager for a physician's office. I am fortunate to have a wonderful family and support system, but unfortunately none of them deal with EDS on a daily basis, therefore none of them can "support" me like you guys can.

I am a self proclaimed "girly girl", who loves fashion, beauty and heels. After my accident in 2007 i was told I could never wear heels again. This is no big deal to some, but to me it was a part of who i was, another part i felt was stolen from me from my EDS.

My boss is wonderful and allowing me to work from home, and hopefully i'll be able to return to work soon.

I find myself sitting on the couch while the "normal world" goes about its business, and i'm jealous. Pissed off. And sad.