Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff!!!!!
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
New here
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Hi I'm new to DS, and support groups in general, I have been browsing your posts and they have been so helpful to me.

About me, my husband and I care for his mom who is almost 84, she has dementia, not sure how long she has had it as a doctor told us she had it after her first stroke 20 yrs ago but once she healed from the temporary memory loss she seemed like her old self, so we have cared for her needs for 20 yrs, thru strokes, heart surgery, diabetes issues, we moved in with her each time she needed live in care and about 10 yrs ago we decided to buy a home with her so we were on hand when a health issues arose instead of moving in with her for a short period and moving out again.

Her dementia symptoms were evident at that point but as we were use to her quirks we just thought it was old age and her not liking to give up independance of living alone, about 5 yrs ago hubby and his mom had a blow up over accusations she kept making about us, stealing , hiding things, us being mean to her, so we decided to take a break - we moved her into an adults only building next door to us so she was still close by and could come over anytime she wished (but never did) .

While she was at her apartment she was visited by the Dementia team, its a medical team that assesses her mental functions to make sure she is able to live independantly. They said she did have dementia but was fine living on her own especially since we were next door and checked on her daily.