Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
My girlfriend and my mother
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Hi all, I'm new to this and this is my first post but I need to make some changes in my life and I feel that this will be a good stepping stone.

So my girlfriend and I will both be 23 this year and we have been together for 4 years. She is the love of my life and I want to spend the rest of my life with her. That being said, we have been going through a rough patch right now that is really starting to divide us.

My girlfriend is not too fond of my mother and my girlfriend believes that my mother is not too fond of her either. Maybe it's not my girlfriend as a person, but my mother just doesn't like the fact that I'm with someone for so long and taking me away from her. Now I understand that this is what mothers do as they have trouble letting go of their oldest son.

The thing that bothers me is that my mother will say these little comments that basically take digs at my girlfriend and for some stupid reason, I can't say what I need to say in order to stand up for my gf and our relationship, as this has happened more than once.

When I tell my gf this, understandably so, she is upset with me because I didn't stand up for her and it kills me inside to know that I have hurt her like this. I realize that I need to start standing up for myself and being more assertive but it's a hard thing to do when you're not used to it.

If this situation ever does come up again where there is a comment made by my mother about my gf, I know that I have to speak up and stand up for her and us, because my gf has told me that that would be the last time if I don't and I can't live with that. I need to start standing up for myself and us not only to help our relationship but to help me too.