How to use DailyStrength
We're on Facebook
Check out our page
Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Advice:
Strategies in dealing with emotional dependency.
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Hi!

My name is Pedro and I am 32 years old. I am currently a university teacher while i try to finish my PhD.

There are many reasons I believe led me to be emotional dependent. Abstracting from those, the fact is that I am. I love teaching but I am on a career track that values research output the most and I have yet to find my job rewarding.

I have been away from my country/family for 8 years. I do see/call them regularly but my family dynamics have always been very harsh on me and sometimes i get the feeling that moving abroad was an unconscious reaction to all the stress my family puts upon me.

I had three long-term relationships (6 years, 4 years, 1 year and 2 months). The last relationship has not ended yet but we are experiencing some problems and that was the reason that lead me to my search for answers with respect to behavioral issues within my self that lead to break ups.

For reasons that may have to do with my childhood/job/etc, the fact is that i feel the constant need for confirmation and affection. I go to great lengths to prove my love and loyalty to my partner and i guess i end up not leaving any space for her to miss me. I am now aware that the biggest reason i give so much love and affection is because i seek it myself. I crave for unconditional love and acceptance and these expectations are never fulfilled which leads me to the basic reaction of increasing my displays of affection (hugs,kisses, cooking and cleaning all the time, paying for most of the things, offers of support in all issues etc..).