Follow us on Twitter
Read our tweets
Get Cool DS Stuff
Shirts, Hats, Baby Wear
Discussion:
Addison's disease question.
Watch this 
View More Posts Ignore
Couple questions to throw out there. I'm new to the support group as of today, and I am VERY ENCOURAGED to find other people I can talk to about this Addison's disease diagnosis, as well as some that I could maybe help.
Does anybody know if Addison's disease does irreversible damage to other organs in the body before it shows symptoms and is diagnosed? Apparently my adrenal glands were destroyed from multiple physical and surgical trauma and ENT surgery hemorrhage...but my endo doctor has told me absolutely NOTHING useful. I've been looking online for information about Addison's, and I am VERY surprised it is such a serious condition and my doctor has not informed me about it at all.
I didn't know it was life-long. I didn't know it was incurable. He didn't tell me I should be careful regarding adrenal "crisis" or that it could lead to other serious health problems, such as heart problems.
Also - I have had cloudy urine for months now, and when I asked him about it, he asked me if I was having any pain with urination, and I said no. He said "Don't worry about it then." I never had a problem with cloudy urine before starting treatment for Addison's disease.
My husband would like to know if Addison's disease is going to shorten my life.
Seems like Addison's disease could get mixed up in a lot of different diagnoses. A lot of complex stuff involved when hormones go awry...

Well, just sticking my neck out there...Thanks in advance for any info. I also have Human Growth Hormone Deficiency (HGHD), Hypothyroidism, high blood pressure, and postmenopausal hormone deficiency, on Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT), just in case anybody's got any questions about those diagnoses. Yup - I'm a mess....
:) meadowinthewoods
Posted on 09/02/08, 09:11 pm
8 Replies Add Your Reply